A Kitchen Towel by any other name…

 

Think outside the box once in awhile…

 

I feel like I say that a lot on my blog, but I like to take ordinary every-day items and change them into something new.

I was in Tuesday Morning the other day and saw some cute kitchen towels for a good price. I thought I could use them or improve them even more with a little creativity.

DSCN3147

My first idea is my favorite…I took the black and white towels (3 in a pack for $6!!!) and made them into a pillowcase for my new bedding.

DSCN3151

This is a super easy sewing project that literally took about 20 minutes!  If you could sew a straight line and know how to use your button hole foot on your sewing machine, you could do this.

All I did was sew two towels together (right side facing) on three sides, leaving a short end open for the buttons. Turn your case right side out and sew button holes on the outside fabric and coordinating buttons on the inside fabric.

I even used some super-cute vintage buttons I picked up from an estate sale long ago.

DSCN3148

Seriously, how sweet are they? They are wooden with little arrows on them.

I inserted your standard pillow in it, buttoned it up, and it was finished!

DSCN3155

I really like the stripes and the flowers but it really needs some sort of pop of color now. Like maybe a green apple color? Hmmmm……a project for another day.


With the white towel, I stitched out a cute reminder that spring is only one month away. (Please Hurry Spring!)

DSCN3163


The hardest, most difficult project was a “bright” idea I got to try and make the orange towel into a handy-dandy make-up bag with some vintage linens added in. Honestly, it did not turn out like I wanted but, Hey! You learn by your mistakes…

It came out all lumpy and crooked and I almost broke my serger trying to sew it up all nice and neat.

DSCN3166

It’s still usable, just not what I had pictured in my mind.


I had some orange towel scraps left over so I thought I’d make a little travel soap carrier/loofah.

DSCN3167

Another easy thing to sew, and it could be embellished in many different ways. I think it would be really cute if it had a little rubber ducky embroidered on it or someone’s name or initials. Perhaps for a child? Hmmmm….another idea.

I hope I’ve given you some ideas. Now get your bad self sewing!

Peace,

Kathy

Sharing with these great link parties

Chic on a Shoestring Budget

The Shabby Nest

Karen’s Up on the Hill

Between Naps on the Porch

The Dedicated House

6 thoughts on “A Kitchen Towel by any other name…

  1. Wow! How creative! Each one was great, and i really liked the make-up bag! fun! Aren’t you happy that you so wisely invested in the machines?? Someone is looking down and blessing you, eh? I love you Daughtercita!

  2. Hi Kathy! That grey stripped pillow couldn’t be more perfect for your bed! But I really LOVE the little soap cozy/travel case, I think it would be so adorable to leave for visitors in the guest room! I’m inspired to try & make one myself 🙂
    Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing on Something to Talk about, I can’t wait to see what you post next week!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

