Fat Tuesday in Chicago

 

Happy Mardi Gras!

 

One of my favorite, favorite, favorite cities is New Orleans. When you visit there, it’s like visiting a city in another country. There are so many cultures, traditions, legends…not to mention the wonderful food and colorful people.

I’ve been to New Orleans at least ten times and every time is an adventure. My oldest brother lives there so I get to see the city from a local’s perspective, not so much a tourist’s perspective.

Well, today is Mardi Gras in NOLA, the culmination of many weeks of parades, parties, balls and celebrations.

Bourbon Street is a sight to be seen!

Mardi%20Gras

Mardi Gras Parades are one of a kind!

mardi gras parade

Each Krewe will host a ball, a black-tie event and the costumes are out of this world!

costume

We don’t have anything like this in Chicago…not even close.

But we do have Paczki Day!!!!

DSCN3138

Paczkis are incredibly delicious doughnut-like treats that bakeries prepare the day before Ash Wednesday. They are a Polish tradition and are melt-in- your mouth delectable mouthfuls of sugar, fruit and flour.

My wonderful friend Noreen had a bunch of us moms over this morning after we dropped the kids off at school.

Paczkis Galore!!!!

DSCN3135

Chocolate Cream, Raspberry, Cherry, Custard, Apple, Apricot, Chocolate-Chip Cream Cheese filled….Yum, Yum, Yum!

DSCN3137

DSCN3141

DSCN3139

So much sugar and goodness, we had to wash it down with some fresh made cappuccino made by Noreen’s husband.

DSCN3142

Needless to say, I was a bit wired this morning!

But I did manage to continue my Fat Tuesday by making a New Orleans dish for dinner…

Cheesy Grits and Shrimp!

(I didn’t snap a photo of this because I was too busy shoving it into my mouth.)

And for desert, Bananas Foster with vanilla ice cream!

DSCN3143

You know what all this means?

Fat Tuesday = Fat Kathy

Oh my!

 

2 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday in Chicago

  1. Kath! Those punchki’s looked wonderful – and to have a little taste of each one! Heaven! Noreen, you did a great job! Wish I could have shared them with all of you!

Leave a Reply

