Catching Up With Blogging U…

I’m having a hard time completing my daily assignments.

Between all the real world stuff I have to accomplish on a daily basis, I’m finding it difficult to find the time to invest into my blog. I’m hoping I could catch up this weekend, but it looks like this might be a hard task to accomplish.

Case in point…Right now I have a group of 10-11 year old boys in my basement celebrating my youngest’s birthday with a sleepover.

My husband and older son are away at a hockey tournament and I am home to organize the chaos.

I hear Nerf guns going off, yells and squeals, video game challenges, negotiations, a very loud TV, air hockey games, etc. You get the picture.

 

Assignment #9: Be Inspired by the Neighbors

This follows Assignment #8 which is to Be a Good Neighbor. To be a good blog neighbor, the task was to comment of 4 blogs you’ve never commented on before.

I did that assignment, but couldn’t remember which four blogs I had commented on! (Oh my gosh! I can hardly remember where I put my car keys!) Luckily, I found my comments by scrolling through my history on WordPress.

I found an admirable post about Ebola Fighters on the blog Faradays Candle. It’s a blog written by two grade school sisters who find Science fascinating. That’s right, I said grade school sisters.

The post is about Ebola volunteers in West Africa and how deserving it was that they were named Time Magazine’s Person of the Year.

I couldn’t agree more!

In my twenty years as a Registered Nurse, I have been pooped on, peed on and vomited on too many times to count…

I’ve been harassed, teased, punched by a detoxing drunk, cursed at, yelled at and shouted at…

I’ve worked days, evenings, nights, holidays, and weekends…

Most days I scarf down my food during my break and sometimes I have to wait an ungodly amount of time to go to the bathroom.

I continue to do all this because I really love being a a nurse. With all the bad that goes along with this profession, there is so much more good that comes out of it. I really feel I am contributing something to this world. I truly feel I am happiest when I am serving others.

However, with all my good intentions, I would never volunteer to work with Ebola patients. Is that selfish of me? Whether it is or isn’t, I really don’t care. I just wouldn’t do it…I have a husband and children who I love very much and who love me back. I’m not willing to sacrifice like that.

It reminds me of how I feel about the firefighters who lost their lives on 9/11…Knowing you just might not make it out, that you might not ever see your family again, that your wife might be a widow, your children fatherless…What gave them the courage to go in and try to help? I can’t even fathom it. Truthfully, I would’ve ran the other way.

Which is why I hold in highest regards those that do this kind of work. They are really a special and unique breed of people who have far more courage and internal fortitude than most of the rest of the human race. I admire them but I also ask myself, “Are they crazy?”

Most of all, I am truly and immensely thankful for people like this who are nothing short of Heroic.

Peace,

K

9 thoughts on “Catching Up With Blogging U…

  1. I certainly know the feeling. I cant have two seconds to myself to put together a coherent thought with my one year old and everything else going on.

    I dont think i could chance that either. I suppose im selfish too. I dont know how they do it but they are so very special and heroic. So are you though for being a nurse!

  2. It is wonderful that you are honest about not being a volunteer in with this particular disease! It is frightening, and so heroic of the people that are willing to put themselves out there to help in anyway they can! Thank you for enlightening more people.

  3. Not a day passes that I don’t thank God that my children are grown, that we all survived the experience, that they are all healthy & happy & raising their own children (paybacks are hell!). Even with all the gratitude I feel, I wouldn’t have the courage to be an ebola fighter even if I had the skills. God bless the doctors, nurses & other volunteers who do.

  4. I love your honesty – I know and see and feel how much you love and value the family – it’s a hard choice to make, and I’m happy you do not have to make it – keep doing what you’re doing, it’s where you are meant to be! Love you more!

Leave a Reply

