Milk Bottle Tutorial

You know those really tasty Frappuccino’s from Starbucks?  Well, I think the bottles they come packaged in are adorable.

So I saved a few for a new project…

 

 

how to etch glass

I’ve been wanting to try this for a long time and have always been intimidated by the warnings on the sketching product.

009

If you read closely, it says it causes severe burns, damage, and may be fatal!!!

Ok, I love to craft but I really don’t want to burn my skin or die in the process.

But….I did it anyway.  All I can say is: do use the proper precautions like rubber gloves and well-ventilated area. (I did it outside.)  I even wore eye goggles in case any cream might accidently spatter and burn my eyeball out.  Also, my mother told me too.

Also, KEEP AWAY FROM CHILDREN!!!! 

First step is to cut out a design.  I used my Cameo Silhouette to design a little something.  If you don’t have one, you can use a stencil.

007

This is what I came up with.

I sent the design to the Cameo and it did a really great job cutting out all the little letters.  I was pleasantly surprised.

010

I peeled away the vinyl I didn’t want and applied the design I did want to the glass using the transfer paper.

011

Then peel away the transfer paper and

Vee-O-La!

013

Now don clean gloves.

(Sorry, If you are a nurse, you will understand the humor in that one…don clean gloves.)

Slab on a thick layer of the etching cream.  (Be careful not to eat it, because that is very dangerous, and it will burn your esophagus)

014

According to the Armour Etch website, you should wait 2-3 minutes and then wash it off with water.

Peel back your vinyl and

Vee-O-la!

043

Cute, huh?

The only problem is, it is very subtle.  And if you put milk in it, you actually can’t see the etching at all.  Hmmmmm…….Bummer.

Iced Tea worked though…

018

As did Lemonade….

cookies

So I got an Idea

Just use the vinyl and the milk will show through.

Now I do know that the vinyl holds up pretty well on glass because long ago I put some little mustaches on some cute little glasses and they’ve been through the dishwasher plenty of times.

mustache milk

What do you think?

051

And there was no danger of burning off body parts in the process.

But when I went to pair my milk bottles with my delicious chocolate cookies…

047

…this is what I found!

Someone came along and ate my props!!!

(Well, two some ones whom I gave birth to.)

I just went with it.

050

I will definitely try the etching again soon…and I will don clean gloves, a hazmat suit, and goggles.

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog, I really do appreciate it and hope it makes you laugh a little.

Peace,

Kathy

Linking up!

chic on a shoestring budget

the dedicated house

7 thoughts on “Milk Bottle Tutorial

  1. Hello, my crafty friend!

    Love the etching. Could the etching acid be mixed with dye, or can the etched glass be dyed?

    Thinking about party favors…

Leave a Reply

