Newest Antique Store Find

 

Confession…

When I say I go antiquing, I really think I’m kind of exaggerating.

I don’t really buy any antiques like furniture (unless it’s really cheap and antique furniture isn’t cheap), I don’t buy art or first edition books or turn of the century (20th century, or course) mementos.  I can’t afford that kind of stuff and I would be too nervous it would get destroyed in my house of two boys and their friends.  (Nerf War anyone?)

What I do is look for are things that catch my eye and intrigue me, things that could be made into something else.

I have an affinity for linens from the 1940’s and 1950’s.  I buy handkerchiefs, tablecloths, aprons and pillowcases.

I love to make Pillowcase Dresses with those beautiful, hand embroidered pillowcases from days gone by…to think some mother or grandmother actually painstakingly sewed and embroidered pillowcases for her loved ones…how could that go to waste?

 

100_0229

100_0040

 

 

100_0043

I love to look at all the detail and workwomanship that went into these pillowcases.

100_0041100_0044

One time I found an entire box of sugar sacks! 

So far, I’ve only made a pillow out of one, but I have plans for more!

006bth_8144288d-3fc1-4672-92c7-0774bb54ee46_zps4e6a6fcc

I even fashioned a Christmas-themed apron from one of them.

bth_3ac2f4f6-5cfd-4210-a8f3-b060908ef124_zpseabb53e6

I guess my point is (besides the one on my head), is that I like to make old things new again.

For Example

 

This metal thing/shovel

001

What was it used for, I wonder…of course a shovel of some sort, but for what?  Ice? Grains? Shit?  (Sorry, I couldn’t resist)

 

After a good cleaning with bleach, (in case it was used for you-know-what), I put it to another use.

10474690_670765179666574_1279169897146130580_n

I took down the Chicken Head and put up a Shovel-Shelf.

Shovel-Shelf, Shovel-Shelf, Shovel-Shelf

(Try saying that three times, really fast)

Your doing it, aren’t ya?

Now Go Out There And Find Something Old to Make Into Something New

And if needed, use bleach to put your mind at rest.

 

Peace to You,

K

http://chiconashoestringdecorating.blogspot.com/2014/08/flaunt-it-friday-218.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+ChicOnAShoestringDecorating+%28Chic+on+a+Shoestring+Decorating%29

http://www.thededicatedhouse.com

8 thoughts on “Newest Antique Store Find

  1. Love your pillow case dresses, K! So beautiful and a lovely way to show off the detail and embroidery on them.

    You wouldn’t have an Etsy shop where you sell? I ask because I have been featuring Etsy sellers on my blog in a feature called The Artist Behind The Etsy and I’m always looking for new talent to feature!

    • I’m so glad you like the dresses! I actually do have an etsy shop where I try to sell the things I make; mostly things out of vintage linens. The dress that was featured was an item that sold last year…

  2. Pingback: Make it Pretty Monday – Week 111

Leave a Reply

