Nautical Love

 

It’s been a long while since I have written: Summer goes by so fast doesn’t it?

 

We took our annual trip to the Jersey Shore…

I LOVE the smell of the salty air and the sound of the waves…

 photo 80c35bda-7f4e-4bd2-8352-1102a08a0aa1_zps7595d530.jpg

I Love THIS GUY even more!

I LOVE to go antiquing while I’m there.  You can read about it here.

This year I was inspired by all the nautical themes I saw…

Anchors, sailboats, lobsters, sand, surf…

I tried to bring a little of that back into my home.

I started with a frame I found at a thrift store for $10.  It had a picture of Elvis in it.  That’s gone now.

I had some fabric left over from a previous project and printed a picture from the wonderful Graphics Fairy onto some muslin.

129

I purchased and downloaded the nautical stars from a wonderful embroidery site called Urban Threads.  (If your have an embroidery machine and are looking for cool designs, I highly suggest giving them a look-see.)

As you can see,  the hardest part (for me, at least) is lining up the stars to match both sides.

131

Most of the time I try my best and then pray…

133

Not too bad, huh? 

 

Next I used some adhesive spray to secure the fabric onto my board.

134

 

Viola!

That’s Vee-O-La! in KathySpeak

140

I also cut apart a wonderful grain sack I found to make it into a table runner.

I had to get out my serger which always makes me nervous.  Anyone who is new to serging will understand.  But all I did was try to serge the edges.

Before the Serge

136

After the Serge

137

 

Here’s some views of the finished projects

142

 

143

 

 

And of course, how could I leave you without posting this………

100_1473

 

Please have a Beautiful Day!

K

Linking up!

http://www.thededicatedhouse.com/2014/07/before-and-after-wednesday-week-24.html
http://chiconashoestringdecorating.blogspot.com/

5 thoughts on “Nautical Love

  1. very impressed Kathy! Your photo of the finished room looks like a magazine ad. You have a gift and I am glad you are sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

