A “Girlfriend’s Weekend” and a Little Man tagged Along…

 

A friend is someone who understands your past, believes in your future and accepts you today just the way you are.

 

This spring my three oldest and dearest friends and I took a little trip to Nashville! 

Yup, we left the lovely husbands and beautiful children behind and drove to Music City.

Confession…I’m not a huge country music fan but I do know all the words to Garth Brooks’ “Friends in Low Places”.  I did see Alabama in concert once, back in 1989.  I do own a pair of cowboy boots purchased in 1991, a gift from my then-boyfriend and now-husband.  (Those dang boots have held up ever so well.)

And through the years, my friends have held up well also.

The Background—Four Fabulous Forty-(ish) Women

Annie, Maribel, Amy and Me

Annie and I met and became friends in Kindergarten.

We met Maribel in Junior High, though she attended our rival school and we didn’t become “friends” till High School. 

In High School, we met Amy and the four of us have been friends since…sure there were highs and lows, fights and misunderstandings along the way, you know how girls can be.  But we stuck together and I love these women like sisters.

We over packed…clothes, shoes, snacks, candy, Pepsi (Annie), curling irons, flat irons, make-up, hot-rollers (me), i-pods, i-pads, work lap-tops (Maribel), little cartons of milk (Amy)  that froze and someone (Amy) tried to thaw out by using a blow-dryer.

We talked about the old days, the present days, and the future days…what our kids were up to, husbands up to, careers were up to…

But I brought along a little guy to enhance the fun and mischief of a Girl’s Only Weekend.

photo 5

My Antique Charlie McCarthy hung out with us all weekend.

It’s weird, I know, but he added so much laughter.  We soul-sisters dragged him around town.

 

photo 1

nashville

photo 2

How weird are we?  Well, very weird, although I like to think of us as “unique”.  After all, no one else in Nashville was running around with a ventriloquist doll.  At least, not that I was aware of…

nashville hotel

I’m sure people must have thought, “Look at those women…why are they posing for pictures and why are they including that scary doll in them?” 

 

nashville car

nashville moose

Good times…we danced, laughed, had a few drinks, ate, slept late (except me, I’m not able to do that anymore.  Sucks),  listened to a lot of music, walked the strip, danced some more, ate some more.  We bonded, shopped, did some touristy things like The Grand Ol Opry House tour….

All in all, it was a fantastic time, memories made, laughed till we cried at times. And some of us probably laughed so hard, we peed our pants. That’s how you know you are REALLY having a good time when you are over 40 and have had children…

I hope everyone has some friends like these…friends who accept you for who you are, friends who know your past and want only the best for your future.  Friends who you know you can call up in the middle of the night, and they will be there for you.

Friends who will help you carry a Charlie McCarthy doll around a rockin’ city and not bat an eye…

Peace,

K

3 thoughts on “A “Girlfriend’s Weekend” and a Little Man tagged Along…

  1. What a great synopsis of your outing! Sounds like you girls had a real good time –
    so happy you have a group like that!

  2. Once again, a beautifully written piece Miss Kathy. I can’t imagine life without you gals and the laughter, tears, comfort, and support that it brings.

Leave a Reply

