Telephone Table Makeover

My Great-Grandmother’s Telephone Table

My Great-Grandma Lena had a telephone table in her house (as did most people from that generation, I suppose) that was given to me several years ago that I love.  In our world of cordless phones, cell phones and Skype for that matter, I find it so interesting that people only had one phone in their house, (a rotary phone), that everyone used.

I believe they also called it a “gossip bench”.

Mine got nicked up and abused through the years and was an eyesore in my kitchen.  But I couldn’t get rid of it because it was Grandma Lena’s so I decided to re-do it.

455

Geez,  that is AWFUL!

The top is scratched and stained…

456

So I took her outside for a good sanding and cleaning…

457

Painted her with Benjamin Moore paint in “Antique White” and stained the top with a dark walnut wood stain…

460

461

I must note here that I SHOULD HAVE primed her because I had a REALLY HARD TIME with the original wood showing through the antique white paint.  I truthfully ended up using spray paint primer very carefully in areas that it kept bleeding through and then once again painting over it with the antique white.  Next time, I won’t skip such an important step. ( yeah, right.)  I also put a coat or two of polyurethane on the top to make it shine and protect it.

Next I sanded it a bit to distress it and then came the fun part…

The Seat Cover!

I went to the Graphic’s Fairy and found a cute, grainsack type image to transfer onto some painter’s drop cloth I had left over from this project.  Once again I used the Citra-solve Method for transfer because I feel it’s the easiest on drop cloth.  You can see a tutorial here.

Here’s a terrible close-up…

562

But….I REALLY like the way it turned out….

563

Now if only I had a Rotary Phone…

Hmmmm…Estate Sale Anyone?

Anyone? Anyone?

Bueller?  Bueller?

Peace…

K

Sharing at Brag Monday at http://thegraphicsfairy.com/ and

http://thededicatedhouse.blogspot.com/2013/10/make-it-pretty-monday-week-71.html

 

4 thoughts on “Telephone Table Makeover

  1. Kath – so good to see you back at Feathers and Dimes!! Real good story – and the telephone bench came out so o o o o cute! You are very resourceful, did you know that? Talk with you soon! mamacita

Leave a Reply

