Pay It Forward Friday #2

 

Harder Than I Thought It Would Be…

 

fdacb6db-82ab-4edf-a3c0-f34873b0f4a6_zpsc4c93f5a

Truthfully, this is harder than I thought it would be…how could doing one simple, little nice thing be so difficult for me this past week?

Because sometimes I forget, sometimes I am nasty, sometimes I don’t really feel like it.

I meant to surprise some little kid at the ice rink by leaving some money in a baggie on a vending machine, but I was in a rush to get my son to his game and had too many other things on my mind, so I forgot…

I meant to leave a home-baked treat on my cranky neighbor’s porch, but then he yelled at my son for accidentally kicking a ball into his yard, so I thought, “Screw you, Jerk.” (See, I told you I am nasty sometimes…Remind me to get a 6 foot fence…)

I meant to send a card to an old friend who I haven’t talked to in a while, but I kept putting it off, distracted by all the “day to day” chores and errands that fill up my day.

I meant to, I meant to, I meant to…

So here I am on Friday…

The best thing I did was to offer to cover a co-worker’s weekend night shift so she could go to some party but I did this grudgingly….(during the summer I work only weekends so any free weekend night is precious to me.)

I’m a nurse, did I mention that?

How was your week?  I would love to hear what you did…

 

8 thoughts on “Pay It Forward Friday #2

  1. Well, here’s what I’m thinking and finding about this pay it forward campaign. . . . Even though I really didn’t “do” one solid act this week, there was a mind set to let others go first – in line at the grocery store, let someone get in line from traffic, let someone go before me at work on the microwave, just little signs that a “baby-step” mind set is happening. . . .

    We don’t have to do great things, just little things with great love – to quote Mother Teresa. . . .
    I hope we all have a wonderful week and lots to tell next Friday!!!

  2. Mom always said the road to hell is paved with good intentions. I figure I’m half way there.
    If I complete any good deeds this week will be sure to share.

    As always love your posts.
    Ps: growing up in a family of nurses, I know your deed was HUGE this week.

  3. Anybody who knows you, knows you naturally pay it forward in your daily life. Don’t forget how you got your friend through the hardest week of her life….Lots of love

    • I’m always here for you, my friend. Just like you have always been there for me. (Except for that time in college when an evil can of hairspray head tried to ruin our friendship, but we won’t talk about that…hee.)

  4. On the receiving end today. My Kaitlyn had oral surgery this morning. Around 4:00 this afternoon, two of her friends dropped by unannounced with some yummy smelling lotion. Kait perked right up. They asked if they could stay and of course I said yes. What a sweet way to make my girl feel better. I will pay it back to them with some Starbuck’s and Jimmy John’s later.

Leave a Reply

