Glider Redo

 

It is not a slight thing when they, who are

so FRESH from GOD, love us. 

                                                                                          —Charles Dickens

 

Before my first child was born, I searched like many moms-to-be for a rocking chair.  I found a glider that was both comfortable and affordable and purchased it with money I inherited from my grandfather.  I knew he would of loved to buy a rocking chair for his great-grandchild and every time I sat in it, I thought of him and pictured him smiling.

Two children and twelve years later, the glider sadly goes unused and the fabric is an eyesore.

I decided it was time to donate it.  I reluctantly moved it into the garage to wait for the donation truck to pick it up.  When they came to get it, my husband at the last minute surprisingly told them we’d changed our minds, we wanted to keep it. Huh? 

And then I understood…He felt the same way about that glider as I did!  How many nights did we sit in it, holding and snuggling our babies, fresh from their baths when their little faces burrowed into our necks?  How many days did we spend in it, rocking away, reading books to our little ones?  How many hours did I spend nursing my little loves while they looked up at me with their big eyes, trusting eyes, sleepy eyes, sick eyes?  How many minutes did we enjoy just letting the world go by as we sang and cradled and loved those little ones?  Countless.

Priceless memories.  We couldn’t give away that glider:  It was something we’d have to keep.

 

So I decided to re-do it and put it back to

use!

Now I am not a furniture reupholsterererererer by any means…(nor can I spell it), but this is how it came out!

100_1021

 

I bought a painter’s drop cloth, washed it and loosely made a pattern from the old cushions and sewed away.

I love the look of old French grain sacks so I tried my darndest to imitate them by grabbing a graphic off the wonderful website www.thegraphicsfairy.com and using the Citra-Solve method of transferring it. 

Then I painted on some lines and hoped for the best!

100_1028

 

It’s perfect for the basement/toy room.  The best part is, it still gets used by us all the time! 

My boys might not sit in my lap anymore while I rock them to sleep, but this chair will always hold those precious memories for me.

I know my grandfather would like that.

 

 

100_1025

I’m linking to Miss Mustard Seed’s FFF, Be Different, Act Normal, and Funky Junk Interiors!
Furniture Feature Fridays

Funky Junk's Sat Nite Special

And Brag Monday @ http://www.thegraphicsfairy.com

6 thoughts on “Glider Redo

  1. Some things just get better with age. The chair is one of those few things that you get that takes on an identity beyond itself. It isn’t a chair anymore. Its a way to relive memories…….granpa would be proud.

  2. WOW! I love this blog – the chair came out wonderful! Lots of rocking still to be done! What wonderful memories – I remember singing Maybe from Annie after Jacks bath and then you nursing him to sleep – in that rocker! I felt the same way about our kitchen table – so many memories of meals and homework and card games and projects and pasta making were on
    that table top – I gave it to a good friend for her lake house. . . . .thanks for the memories my love!

  3. Pingback: Telephone Table Makeover | Feathers and Dimes

  4. It’s a beautiful tribute to the irreplaceable memories that were created in it! I’m with you, some things are not things, but a sentimental memory come to life! Awesome job!

    P.S…..Hopefully, your grandchildren will be rocked in your beautiful chair too! 😉

Leave a Reply

